My Yoga Bag

My Yoga Bag

Just opened my spiffy new yoga mat bag, and it is just pretty darned exciting. It could also work for those putt putt clubs, if in fact I had my own set.   The box shows a beautiful & fit lady with this bag slung over her shoulder.  And the instructions (how complicated can this be?) are in English & French.  I think that makes this upscale.

To be honest, this is for my pilates mat, which I use for yoga, because yoga mats are thinner, and pilates mats thicker, to give just the right cushioning for these boney old knees.  Why do I have skinny arms and legs, but not skinny the-rest-of-me?

Back to the mat bag.  It’s got pockets everywhere… one for my trusty water bottle, one for my cell, and others that remain a mystery to me.   These are a pretty good size.  I could transfer my wallet, and lots more from my purse.  But why would I do that?  I could stash a snack in there, but the class really isn’t that long.   And I carry my purse wherever I go, so… why do I need all these pockets?  In fact, why do I need this bag?  I don’t know, really, but at the time I came upon it, it did seem like a good idea.  You know, that mat could come unrolled while I’m carrying it in my arm, and heavens… what would I do?  Except that it actually sticks to itself, and when I try to unroll it for class it requires some effort to get it to not stay rolled up.

There is a padded shoulder strap – because of course, that mat is pretty heavy, so I guess I really need cushioning there…   And it also has a nifty smaller handle to carry it when I’m feeling quite jaunty and want to swing it around.  It’s lavender, with classy black trim.  I’m not really into the color lavender, but truth be told, I wasn’t shopping for a bag;  this one just popped up on a shelf beside the purses at TJ Maxx.   Yes, I was shopping for a purse for spring, but didn’t find one.  So of course, I bought a bag for my yoga/pilates mat.

I’m sure I’m going to get a LOT more out of yoga now, being able to enter the room with my incredible Yoga Bag.  I will be much more limber, agile, and at peace with the world now that I have this bag.

I’m going to look pretty silly with this thing.  My yoga class is in a parlor room at a church in a nearby town, not some trendy gym where the suburban trophy wives go wearing their coordinated spandex workout clothes and chat about this week’s trip to the spa.  I don’t even always wear yoga clothing… sometimes I just wear my jeans and a sweater.  Really, with all respect, I’m going to look like I mugged a golfer who is either a 7-year-old princess, or a particularly feminine & fashionable little person.

Thank you, TJ Maxx.  I love my new bag.

April 13, 2011            Fit Like a Glove                  My Yoga Bag

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in Fit Like a Glove and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Yoga Bag

  1. Stefanie says:

    Haha! Love it!

  2. Jeanette says:

    So excited to see your blog come to fruition! Oh – and I loved reading it, too. Makes we want to jump in the car and head for TJ Maxx, except that I only travel north-south during rush hour here and TJ Maxx happens to be east!

  3. Jeanette says:

    “Your comment is awaiting moderation.” Can’t wait for it to be moderated, either!

  4. I agree that you are totally upscale having a yoga mat bag. I am currently looking at my yoga mat, peeking out at me from under the couch. It wonders if I will ever do funny yoga poses on it again.
    This is funny, and I can totally picture you arriving at your informal class with your bag. I’m sure you will look fabulous 🙂

Leave a Reply

