Staying Home Isn’t Always Easy

Wine Before Five

Because Life is Good, & Sweet & Short

& The Ordinary is Extraordinary

The other day, I was hard at work here at my desk when the hem of my robe became entangled in the caster of the office chair. Leaning over to free it caused the chair to roll toward the closet door, further balling up the robe, pulling me face first over the arm of my chair. Picking up speed as I headed toward the closet door face-first, I knew the next step was likely for the chair to tip over and spill me to the floor, unable to get up, unable to free myself from the robe, the caster, the chair, the closet door. Let’s skip the details. Eventually it worked out. Thank God, because I don’t have one of those “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up” buttons.

Later that same afternoon, I went outside to dead-head those lovely daisies in the garden beds. After doing two large bushes, my back began to ache, so being a wimp, I thought a short break seemed in order.  Turning toward the walk, I stepped into the shallow trench my spouse, Wilt, was certain would prevent weeds from encroaching on my flower beds. We still have weeds, but now we also have a trench full of weeds. I twisted my ankle in the trench & fell to my hands and knees. In the front yard. With cars full of gawkers driving by.  I quickly but nonchalantly climbed to my feet without looking toward the road, and went back into the house. Today I have knees resembling those of a five-year-old who crashed her bike.

I still need to finish the weeding and I may opt for a job outside home where it’s safer, but I won’t be wearing that robe when I sit in this chair anymore.

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in Being At Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying Home Isn’t Always Easy

  1. Darlene says:

    You do have that Irish gift of the gilded tongue sister mine!!

  2. Sam says:

    You are a funny one girl. It’s not safe to be at home…..

Leave a Reply

