About Me

About Me

by Emma Ann Weatherly,

Blogger of Wine Before Five

@ Weatherly Writings

Ignore the Silly Rules. I grew up with a lot of silly rules. They didn’t make me a better person. They did make me somewhat paranoid of ever making a mistake, but they sure didn’t make me a better person.

The scenery on a detour is usually the most interesting and prettiest – the best part of the trip.

I’m a lot more likely to remember your dog’s name, breed, and age than I am yours.

And please don’t change your hairstyle or color unless I know you well, or I won’t remember you at all.

I can tell you the birth and death dates, and often the marriage dates, of ancestors who died more than fifty years before I was born. I don’t know why. It seems to go along with the dog and hair thing.

I live a very conservative and traditional life, but truly appreciate diversity. Consider me part of the minority in the patchwork of life — I’m the traditional one with the open mind. There aren’t a lot of us out here from what I can tell.

I love big old farmhouses, picket fences, cornfields, and pastures full of cows, sheep and big round bales of hay. But please don’t take away my Mac mini or cell phone.

Babies, kids and music make me smile.

Old friends who really know me make me feel safe.

I love people and parties.      I treasure my solitude.

It doesn’t make sense to me that we expect kids to sit still on a hard chair at a hard desk all day long, and that we expect every child to learn the same things at the same rate by the same method. How did we progress from the idea that everyone deserves an education to the idea that every child should act and learn in exactly the same way?

Favorite childhood memories: swinging as high as I could under the shade of a giant tree, riding my bike as fast as I could, sledding down a snow-covered wooded hillside – as fast as I could, roller skating and ice skating – as fast as I could. I must have been a kid in a big hurry.

Being a stay-at-home-mom was the best job in the world for me. I am one of the lucky ones.

I didn’t need wine to get through the days… but I understand the women who do. It isn’t always easy. But for me? Wouldn’t trade it for the world.

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in About Me, Philosophy of Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to About Me

  1. What a nice, self-affirming post, Emma Ann. There’s nothing healthier than being introspective and sorting things out the way you’ve done. My hat’s off to you. MWAH!

  2. Lol, Ms. Stephanie… I’d know you anywhere! And thanks for the nice comment. : 0

  3. Ms. Stephanie… Ah, not to worry! I’d know you ANYwhere! You’re Logan’s mommy!!! Thanks for the nice words. : 0

  4. Emma….wonderful, you made me cry. Love you.

  5. Mama J says:

    Loved reading your “About Me”. At times, I thought I was reading about myself. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award! | winebeforefive

Leave a Reply

