Conversation with “Peggy”

Wine Before Five

Because Life is Good.  And Sweet & Short.

Another encounter with one of those warm and fuzzy geeks this week.  This one didn’t sign off as Pablo from WordPress.com did:  “Happiness Engineer,” but he did try hard to keep me happy.  Throughout our online chat he patiently did his best for forty-five minutes to both resolve my problems with Comcast (which he did:  Hurray!) and to keep me happy with his intermittent pleasantries.

“I am here to provide you with excellent customer service today, Emma Ann.”

“You are very much  welcome for that appreciation, Emma Ann.”

“Thank you for verifying that information, Emma Ann.”

“Kindly close all your windows, then kindly open another one, Emma Ann.”

Mid-conversation, though, he decided to change my name.  No, he didn’t mistake me for another client, because we were still discussing the same problem – and again, I must note, he did work diligently until it was solved.  But I became Esther.

“You’re very much welcome, Esther.”

“If I may ask, you are using Safari, Esther?”

But then I became Emma Ann again.

“I greatly appreciate your patience and cooperation, Emma Ann.  Before we part ways,  I want to be certain we have resolved all your needs to discuss.”

I thanked him profusely for his excellent customer service, patience, diligence and time.  Each time I said “Thank you,” though, he re-thanked me for thanking him.  Then I thanked him again.  Then he thanked me again for thanking him.  The thanks were endless.

I couldn’t hear his voice, but as we thanked each other, I could clearly picture him in my mind.  “Hello?  This is Peggy.”

Finally, I was determined to be free.  I said, “Thank you very much for the excellent service, and-I-am-closing-my-online-chat-window-now-Have-a-good-day.”   Before he could answer, I clicked that X with lightning speed.  I can only take so much courtesy in one day.   I was confused by that point  on whether I was Emma Ann or Esther.

But I knew I was very much greatly appreciated.

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conversation with “Peggy”

  1. chrisannee says:

    Oh my goodness I’m laughing so hard! I went back and read all the “pleasantries” in his “Peggy” voice. Too funny!!!

  2. How funny! You made me laugh as Emma Ann AND Esther! 🙂

  3. Why Thank You both, Chrisannee and Jackie! I love knowing I’ve brought someone a smile. Hope you both have a good day! Emma Ann

Leave a Reply

