Above My Paygrade

Wine Before Five

Because Life is Good.  And Sweet.  And Short.

Not long ago, an old friend commented on his Facebook wall that when people ask what his twenty-something son (who was one of my favorite Cub Scouts) does professionally, he responds that he doesn’t know, because it’s above his pay grade.

I sympathize.

A couple of years ago, trying to stay involved in my adult children’s lives (whether they like it or not) I first explored my son’s employer’s website, and then subscribed to the company newsletter.

I’ve learned things from this newsletter that have never been uttered to me by Walter’s mouth, such as that this group has been named the # 1 Manufacturer in its home city for 2011.  Why would you want to bother your mother with something so insignificant?

I do know Walter has had tremendous travel opportunities, and his graduate work is being funded by this model employer.  (I’m hoping they don’t know he was a pre-school drop- out, or that he first did engineering experiments on his younger sister.) A nice bonus is that Walter likes the people he works with.

However, what does this company do?  What does Walter do?  Well, let’s see, when I read the newsletter – and I’m certain it is written in English –  the words look like this:

Xygo&wmt  qntle9sbhwrmm?   Mqprbh93hsap4jcdu  and   qnta8rtn4.

After reading that much, my mind drifts, and says  “…I need to go switch the laundry… Where are the dogs?  Hmmm… what’s for dinner?  I wonder who’s posted on Facebook lately?  …  Oh, yeah, the newsletter…”

Xgyotgnhm qrupbmr…    Yeah, that’s what I thought.  The company does stuff, and Walter does stuff, and he gets a paycheck, and things are going well.  College paid off.

Above my pay grade.  That’s okay.  I still love Walter.

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Above My Paygrade

  1. my kids? oh, I’m sure I’ll have no idea. I don’t even know what my husband does!

  2. Oh, this is my favorite one, yet. But, I think that each time. You are such an imaginative and creative writer, that I look foward to the the next (Wish you would write a humorous book about all this).

  3. Me thinks all adult kids, well, particularly boys (and all 3 of mine are boys), are like this…I have to wring things outta them, and then it’s just a few syllables!! Great post…Walter sounds so cool! 🙂 Ally

  4. First of all, congratulations to your “very” smart son for having such a great job at a great company.
    Secondly, I laughed as I do the same thing- my mind “drifts” when reading things that look like blah, blah, blah to my brain (and that’s a lot of things!!)
    You are a wonderful writer Emma Ann!
    best,
    joan

Leave a Reply

