Don’t Forget to be Awesome Today!

I had planned to give her a call, but the time never seemed “right.”   I was going to send a note in a Thanksgiving card… then a Christmas card… but didn’t get it done. A Valentine, I thought – that will be a sweet surprise! But, no, that didn’t happen.  More recently, I thought, “I know, a lovely note in an Easter card.”

She married young, had three children, was Granny to six, and now there are great-grandchildren.  Her family was her life.

I never saw her without a twinkle in her eye. She always had a smile for me. When we talked, I felt I’d known her all my life, and the comfortable feeling she gave me was warm and wonderful.  I sat at her kitchen table one day, and her conversation was so comfy, so warm, so down-to-earth, that I felt I had sat there with her time after time, for years.  That’s all it took with her… just once.  She was special.  She was a lady.

She was an old-fashioned homemaker, and loved it that way. She was independent, but loved to take care of others. She spoke her mind, but so matter-of-factly that it was just fine.

Her name, in both Gaelic and in French, meant “beautiful.”  And she was beautiful – inside and out.   She cared about people.  She took care of her family, and her home.  She took care of herself – because you know, that is the ultimate compliment to those we love — to take good care of ourselves so we can be at our best for them.

She had the kind of sense of humor that made you laugh right out loud. Once, seeing a bruise on her arm, her grandson asked “Granny, what happened?!” She motioned to her daughter beside her and said “She hit me.”

I was going to send her a note, give her a call, perhaps go to visit her.  But I didn’t.

I never told her how she touched my heart, how I wished I’d been her next-door neighbor, or her daughter, or niece…  I never told her.  Do you think she ever knew?  I hope so.

Today, I went to her memorial service.   At 87, nearly 88, she had a good long life.  When is “long” really long enough?

Those closets will be there tomorrow, those weeds won’t be gone from your life. Forget the “to do” list, forget the “I need to.”  Do the “I want to.” Never put off until tomorrow the messages of caring.

The sun has come out.  It’s shining for her today, I just know it.

This morning a friend posted “Don’t forget to be awesome today!”

Yep.  That’s it.  Make every day awesome.  Say “I love you.”  Make that call.  Give that hug, that smile, that little squeeze of the hand.  Write that note.  Send that card.  Today is the only day we are given to be awesome.

Don’t forget to be awesome today…

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t Forget to be Awesome Today!

  1. Wendy says:

    Beautiful post. Thank you for reminding me that one of the best ways to be awesome is by taking the time to let someone else know how awesome they are. And you, my friend, are awesome. Bask in the sunshine, and the memories. I believe your friend would like that.

  2. What a beautiful post…My grandmother (86) is still my “safe place,” and I am so thankful for her. Thank you for sharing this. 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    Beautiful. And thank you for being awesome today!

  4. Lovely! I know three young women between 44 and 54 battling cancer. This hits home.
    Chris

    • Oh, Chris… I am so sorry! I’ll keep them in my thoughts & heart.
      It’s so easy for us to be caught up in the every day… And we do need to savor the “every day,”
      but we need to remember to take that time out to let people know we care, too, don’t we…

  5. What a wonderful tribute to a wonderful lady and an incredible friend. One of my favorite sayings is, “Life is a series of moments called, now.” So true and yet we get so busy waiting that we forget to live. Thanks for the reminder.

    blessings,
    karianne

    • Karianne, Oh, how I love that quote! It reminds me of one – and I mentioned this in my very first post, “The View From My Window,” — “Oh! Normal day, let me be thankful for what you are!” Life truly is a series of moments, and each one is special. Thanks for writing; your note is a wonderful start to my day. Emma Ann

Leave a Reply

