Sharing, again… Imperfection

Wine Before Five – Ignore the silly rules… See the Extraordinary in the Ordinary…

I have several blogs I truly love, and must say with all respect to ones I’ve noted before, that My Whispers in the Wind by Charlesy Jane is my very favorite, especially for quiet morning musings.

Check out her photo choice on today’s blog;  to me, one of the ultimate lovely things in the world.  Give me the sight of a log cabin where I can dream of those who built it with their own hands, bit by bit, and lived there, creating – literally – their own daily life, living, sustenance.

Appreciation for all — not just the “beautiful,” or “perfect,” – is so key… so essential for me.  Well, in fact, to me, “beautiful and perfect” would be the sight of that cabin, a hand tool with its worn handle from many hours of use, a potato masher with worn paint from a hard-working woman’s daily use… Those little dents on the rocker’s base made by our first puppy’s teething — Oh, sure, I paint over those, but will never, ever sand them out, for they are full of happy memories of an adorable little Springer Spaniel mix who gave us fourteen years of his life, guarding us, our home, our children, loving us, making us laugh…

“Imperfection” — signs of a life well lived, don’t you think?  Even nature gives us beauty in imperfection.  The view from my window this morning shows sunlight peeking over the roof of this old farmhouse to shine golden on the green-turning-yellow leaves of the old oak tree.  But there, just off to the right, is one thin branch, nearly bare, just a few leaves clinging – but its bare stick-like appearance makes one more interesting element in the view.  Or perhaps it is actually The most interesting part of the view, and the sunlit leaves are merely the background.

Imperfection.  I love it.  But please, go read Charlesy Jane’s post this morning, for she says it so perfectly…

Perfectly Ok.

About winebeforefive

"If I had my life to live over... But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute... look at it and really see it ... live it...and never give it back." -- Erma Bombeck “If ever there is tomorrow when we're not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we're apart.. i'll always be with you.” -- from Winnie the Pooh “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” -- Laura Ingalls Wilder “Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened.” -- Dr. Seuss
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Philosophy of Life, Shared Blogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sharing, again… Imperfection

  1. well put, isn’t it enticing to imagine the life some things have had as you are only witness to their scratches and dents and peeling paint. I like that too.

Leave a Reply

